Australian Embassy

About Us


About the Australian Embassy in Lebanon 

The Australian Embassy, Beirut, was opened in 1967. It was the third Australian Embassy to be opened in the Middle East. It was closed in 1984 because of the security situation in Beirut. During the next eleven years, Australian relations with Lebanon, including visa services, were handled by the Australian Embassy in Damascus, with the Ambassador in Damascus accredited to both Syria and Lebanon. In 1994, a temporary Australian Government Office, staffed by locally-engaged officials, was established in the Mayflower Hotel in West Beirut. The Embassy was formally re-opened on 18 July 1995, by the then Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Senator Gareth Evans QC, and the then Minister for Immigration and Ethnic Affairs, Senator Nick Bolkus. The Chancery was in the same building that was evacuated in 1984. It remained there until we moved to the Grand Serail Diplomatic Complex in June 2004.

For information about the Australian Federal Police go to

What We do

Australia's Bilateral Relations with Lebanon 

Head of Mission

Australian Ambassador to Lebanon

Contact information 

Australian Embassy address

Contact us

Opening hours

The Embassy will be open to the public from 8.30 am to 4.00 pm Mondays to Thursdays and 8.30am to 1.30pm Fridays, except public holidays.

Public holidays

The Embassy will be closed on: 

Year 2018

Monday 1 January New Year’s Day
Friday 26 January 2018 Australia Day
Friday 30 March 2018 Good Friday
Monday 2 April Easter Monday
Tuesday 1 May Labour Day
Friday 15 June Eid El Fitr (Ramadan)*
Monday 18 June Eid El Fitr (Ramadan)*
Tuesday 21 August Eid El Adha*
Wednesday 22 August Eid El Adha*
Thursday 20 September Ashoura
Thursday 22 November Independence Day
Monday 24 December Additional DFAT holiday
Tuesday 25 December Christmas Day
Wednesday 26 December Boxing Day